Participants selected for prestigious Leadership Iowa program

Forty leaders from across Iowa have been selected as members of the 2015-16 class of Leadership Iowa, the premier issues-awareness program of the Iowa Association of Business and Industry Foundation.

The eight-month program is designed to foster a passion for civic engagement in current and emerging leaders.

“We are excited to welcome a new group of our state’s brightest leaders to take part in this enriching program,” said Mike Ralston, president of the Iowa Association of Business and Industry and a 1991 graduate of Leadership Iowa. “For the past 34 years, Leadership Iowa has been helping to shape participants who’ve gone on to make great strides as leaders in our communities, our businesses and our state.”

The 2015-16 class will travel to communities throughout the state for a series of two-day sessions from October through June. Topics covered during these sessions will include education, economic development, government, agriculture and renewable energy, public safety and business and industry.

Since its inception in 1982, Leadership Iowa has graduated more than 1,000 individuals from both the private and public sector, representing each geographical region of Iowa. Each year, approximately 40 talented individuals are selected from a large applicant pool based on achieving the best balance of qualified candidates for a particular year.

Source: ABI

Leadership Iowa 2015-16 Class


Name Company Home City / Work City
Kelly Barrick GE Capital Johnston / Johnston
Sarah Bey UNI Center for Business Growth and Innovation Cedar Falls / Cedar Falls
Bret Braafhart Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation Pleasant Hill / Des Moines
Deb Brown Webster City Area Chamber of Commerce Webster City / Webster City
Scott Burns Pella Corporation Pella / Pella
Erin Campbell Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives Urbandale / Des Moines
Susan Corrigan St. Martin Land Company Cedar Rapids / Cedar Rapids
Jennifer Crimmins Citizens Community Credit Union Fort Dodge / Fort Dodge
Brian Crotty HDH Advisors, LLC West Des Moines / West Des Moin
Elizabeth Dawley Scottish Rite Park Des Moines / Des Moines
Jason (Jay) Ferris Veridian Credit Union Council Bluffs / Council Bluffs
Lance Henning Greater Des Moines Habitat for Humanity Ankeny / Des Moines
Brent Hinders Hopkins & Huebner, P.C. Norwalk / Des Moines
Ganesh Jayaram SSAB Iowa Inc. Bettendorf / Muscatine
Matt Joens Palmer Group Ankeny / West Des Moines
Adam Koppes Iowa Farm Bureau Federation Des Moines / West Des Moines
Claire Masker National Pork Board Urbandale / Clive
Matthew McKinney BrownWinick Law Firm West Des Moines / Des Moines
Jeff Menary Grinnell Mutual Reinsurance Company Grinnell / Grinnell
Joe Murphy Iowa State University West Des Moines / Ames
Humphrey Mwangi First Resources Corporation Sigourney / Sigourney
Jennifer Neumann de Novo Alternative Marketing Cedar Rapids / Cedar Rapids
John Osako Informatics, Inc Cedar Rapids / Cedar Rapids
Nicole Peckumn Kemin Industries Des Moines / Des Moines
Melissa Reade Greater Cedar Valley Alliance & Chamber Cedar Falls / Waterloo
John Schreier The Daily Nonpareil Council Bluffs / Council Bluffs
Wendy Schultz City of Council Bluffs Council Bluffs / Council Bluffs
Bobbi Segura Iowa Women Lead Change (IWLC) Des Moines / Des Moines
Ryan Sheets University of Iowa, Tippie College of Business Iowa City / Iowa City
Dave Slade Renewable Energy Group Ames / Ames
Andy Sokolovich Bent Business Marketing & Advertising Clinton / Clinton
Megan Sorensen Children’s Hospital & Medical Center Council Bluffs / Omaha
Alyssa Sundell DuPont Pioneer West Des Moines / Johnston
JR Textor Hubbell Realty Company Des Moines / West Des Moines
Emily Toribio Fareway Stores, Inc. Des Moines / Boone
Dale Vander Berg Peoples Bank Sioux Center / Sioux Center
Anthony Vaughn Alliant Energy Steamboat Rock / Iowa Falls
Julie West PCG Marketing / West Works Altoona / Altoona
Bethany Wilcoxon Capital Crossroads Des Moines / Des Moines